Friday, April 12, 2013

51 years of Invasion By Keith Xavier de Herédia, Divar

On the 19th of December 2013 it is 51 years since India invaded the Portuguesa State of India. It is a sad say for the residents of the territories who were and  are Portuguese at heart.

At the time of British India's independence in 1947, the Portuguesa State of India included a number of enclaves on India's western coast, including Goa proper, as well as the coastal enclaves of Daman and Diu, and the enclaves of Dadra and Nagar Haveli, which lie inland from Daman. The territories of the Portuguesa State of India were sometimes referred to collectively as Goa. Portugal lost the last two enclaves in 1954, and finally the remaining three in December 1961, when they were occupied by India (although Portugal only recognized the annexation in 1975, after the Carnation Revolution and the fall of the Estado Novo regime).

No comments:

Post a Comment